Best Dance Tips for an Incoming Dancer (Or possibly a different extra curricular)

Believe me, I know how hard it is to be a new student in dance, and be the only one who doesn’t know how to do pirouette. When I first started, I was humiliated, and ashamed. I hardly wanted to continue going to class because I would go home crying everyday acknowledging that I didn’t have any talent, so I’ve put together a few tips that should help you improve quickly, and make it look like you at least know slightly what you’re doing.

  1. Look confident

If I’ve learned anything, it’s that you absolutely do not walk into class shy, and lost. Not only will it show other people how amazing you truly are, but it will make yourself feel better about you too! Here are a few tips to expressing confidence in dance class, or any class, rather, regardless of how shy may really feel inside, it’s best we don’t express it.

a. smile, subtly

b. wear something you really like, but that you can move around in! Put your hair in a cute athletic up-do! Dazzling yourself up is always effective.

c. Keep your back up straight

d. Chew on gum! It makes me personally feel a lot better about myself

c. Put on some lip gloss!Be

2. Look into the class before attending

Do some research on the type of dance you’re doing, especially if it’s ballet, there are so many basic turns you can learn that will help you know at least a little about what you’re doing, and maybe try out a few of them too!

3. When you are learning a combo, never watch everyone else as they dance!

If you’re too busy watching everyone else as you dance, you’ll end up falling a few seconds behind, and it’s a lot harder to learn the dance! Usually, you’ll have the opportunity to learn form everyone else after you’ve already learned the dance. Make sure you watch yourself in the mirror, and focus on each move to learn it faster. This way, you don’t have to worry anyone is watching/judging you as well, and it’s a lot easier to dance from the heart.

4. Be the conversation starter

When you have friends in dance, you’ll have advice to receive, and you’ll feel more comfortable with your improvisation and such. I, in fact, lack in this category. For some reason, I’m socially shy in dance. Avoid this! Sometimes I find it hard to express myself dance wise, but typically I have no problem doing improv and such, but believe me, it’s always better to have friends.

 

I hope this helps! Goodluck starting any extra cirriculars!

Need any advise? Contact me and I’d be happy to help!

 

Featured image 

 

 

Leave a Reply

