My Personal Outlook on Profanity

If you’ve been familiar with my channel for a while, you are well aware of the fact that I never use inappropriate terms.

I noticed recently that there was a very disrespectful term used in one of the videos in My Favorite Youtubers and I apologize for that. However, it had me thinking about my own opinion on cussing compared to most teens. If you’re in middle/high school, or maybe even an adult, you are consistently surrounded by people who use horrible language. In my opinion, it should not be used ever. Whether you;re angry or trying to express yourself, it should never be acceptable. Being an open Christian I must, first of all, follow by what the Bible says in Ephesians 4:29, “Let no corrupting talk come out of your mouths, but only such as is good for building up, as fits the occasion, that it may give grace to those who hear.” If you are a Christian, that should be enough to ensure you why we shouldn’t cuss.

I don’t intend on forcing or ordering for those of you who do cuss to stop, but only to inform you to especially have respect for those of you who don’t. When I started middle school, I was bullied because I refused to use what I considered inappropriate words. For a while, I used poor words to fit in better. In the end, I just felt a dark, sinful cloud following me around. I was consistently guilty. So, rather than looking down on those who don’t cuss, like myself, we should look up to them as obedient, generally respectful people. After all, God asks us to honor our father and mother. Since it’s considered taboo in my family, I especially don’t swear.

I just don’t think it’s fair that as teenagers we feel the need to cuss just to fit in. Don’t get me wrong, I respect those of you who cuss as well as you choose to, but I just wish they wouldn’t use it against others only to become more popular. In your family, it may be acceptable, but in mine, it isn’t. Others should respect that.

Although I also respect those who choose to cuss, I don’t think it should ever be acceptable to direct them at someone! In the end, it is most likely mentally destroying that person. So, just…consider my opinion, and respecting people like me who choose not to cuss.

 

With deep love and Passion,

-Victoria Altaria

3 comments

  1. I completely agree with this. Luckily at my school, it’s normal not to cuss so no one gets maken fun of, but I can definitely see how awful it would be if you were maken fun of for not cussing. I do not cuss at all either, because there are much better words to use.

    Like

Leave a Reply

