In the Eyes of an Adolescent

As apart of my advice to other adolescents, I have decided to write a series of posts about a story of a teenager going through difficulties that I or people in my environment have been through. I have not quite finished the first chapter yet, but here is a sneak peek to my exciting new story….

As I gently blew the blistering spark from where it burned, the room grew dark. Expressionless faces surrounding me didn’t even slightly open their mouths after they sang the last melodic words to the birthday chorus. Immediately, my eyes could only see a blur of colors. A combination of nausea and exhilaration caused my body to feel new, unfamiliar emotions. My stomach tightened, and the bones in my chest stung as though they were breaking. The lights along the perimeter of the walls in the house flickered, and the subtle drum beat faded. I felt uneasy, and confused. I tightened my fists in an effort to keep inside the emotions I couldn’t understand myself…

With deep love and passion in each word I write,

-Victoria Altaria

Leave a Reply

